The Vigorous Defense Your Case Need

Kent Assault Defense Attorney

Vigorous Defense When You Need It Most

Assault accusations can lead to devastating and life-changing penalties. Even a gross misdemeanor conviction can result in 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. A class C felony may lead to five years behind bars and a fine up to $10,000 and a class B felony can end with 10 years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines. Lastly, a class A felony can result in prison for life and a maximum fine of $50,000.

With stakes this high, you need an attorney who you can rely on. At the Law Offices of Kim E. Hunter, we are committed to excellence. We provide cost-effective representation but we never compromise on quality. Our lead attorney has received the Pro Bono Award from the Washington State Bar every year since 2004. She has also been chosen to the Washington Super Lawyers® list each year since 2015 and was selected to the Washington Rising Stars® list from 2010 to 2015.

Call our assault defense lawyer in Kent today at (253) 237-1753 for a free consultation.

What Is Assault?

To use a basic definition, assault is any form of harmful, offensive, and intentional touching. A victim does not need evidence of a physical injury in order to claim assault.

There are four major degrees of assault:

  • Assault in the First Degree: This involves cases where the defendant used a weapon or used great force to bring upon great bodily harm or death. Poisoning a person, exposing them to HIV, or exposing them to a noxious or destructive substance are also examples of this crime. First-degree assault is classified as a class A felony.

  • Assault in the Second Degree: In most cases, this crime is penalized as a class B felony. In cases where sexual motivation is discovered, it is bumped to a class A felony. Second-degree assault involves any situation where the perpetrator intentionally assaults another person or recklessly inflicts any sort of bodily harm. Strangulation, suffocation, and assault with a deadly weapon all fit into this category. Most instances of torture are also considered second-degree assault.

  • Assault in the Third Degree: Certain individuals are protected under special laws and an attack on them is categorized as a third-degree assault. Some of these protected people include security officers, nurses, court-related employees, bus drivers, and county clerks.

  • Assault in the Fourth Degree: Any cases of assault which do not fall into the three previous categories will probably be charged as fourth-degree assault. These offenses are normally penalized as gross misdemeanors.

Assault Against a Child

If you are charged with harming a child under the age of 13, your case will be prosecuted differently. First-degree assault of a child is a class A felony, second-degree assault of a child is a class B felony, and third-degree assault of a child is a class C felony.

Defenses for Assault

Details of an alleged assault can be blurry. We are here to make sure that your side of the story is heard. We may be able to prove your innocence if we can show that you acted in self-defense or in the interest of protecting others.

Don’t wait to secure superior representation. Call our Kent criminal defense lawyer today at (253) 237-1753.

  • WACDL
  • Washington state bar Association
  • Avvo Rating 10.0 superb Top DUI & DWI
  • National College for DUI
  • Super lawyers